Beauty

Favourite Skin Care Products

Having sensitive skin, I really have to be careful what products I use and how often. I try not to use loads of different things, just because I don’t know how I will react! If I wake up with my skin looking and feeling great then it automatically makes my day better. I force myself to drink 1.5-3L of water a day so of course that helps but I wanted to make good-skin-days happen more often and start taking care of my skin in more of a routine, rather than just when I feel like it! Below are the products that I have been using over the past couple of months that I feel have really made a difference and impressed me.

Firstly, I love using cleansing wipes to remove my makeup and clean my face but I haven’t mentioned any here because I prefer the ones from either the supermarket or the pharmacy-own ones because they irritate my skin less. That said, the cleanser that I’ve been using for ages is actually an own-brand one from an Australian department store named David Jones and it’s one of my all-time favourites. It smells really good, has Vitamin E and is so creamy to put on- matches its name. It’s lasted ages because I actually only use it twice a week in the shower because I find that is enough for me personally.

Similarly to my cleanser, twice a week I use an exfoliating scrub which is probably one of the more recent things I’ve been using. I have 2 that I switch between because they feel quite different to me and have different effects in my opinion. The one I bought the other month that I have been so happy with is the Nivea Daily Essentials Gentle Exfoliating Scrub. Once again, a product that lives up to its name as it really is so soft. I think this is the product that’s been making my skin feel so smooth lately.
When I want a ‘rougher’ feeling exfoliator, I use my Gentle Refiner Exfoliating Cream with Microbeads from Clarins. Whilst it’s still smooth, you can really feel the exfoliation with this one so it’s great if I need my makeup to apply well the next day or if I have stubborn dry patches (which I’ve had this past winter!).

nivea exfoliating scrubclarins exfoliator

I’ve been wanting to try the Garnier Micellar Cleansing Water for so long but never got round to buying it until recently when it was on sale. This has been such an amazing product for me. I don’t even know what to say about it! It’s just so so refreshing and makes your skin feel very smooth and clean afterwards. Great for making sure all your makeup is removed. Big thumbs up from me!

micellar

This next one might sound silly but I’ve fallen in love with a certain lip balm. I’ve tried so many before but this one really stuck out to me because it’s very moisturising. I got it from the pharmacy where I work and may be the reason for the stock count running low….
I use this every single day and wear it instead of lipstick or gloss because it gives a nice finish to my natural lip colour. Would definitely recommend it to anyone who can get their hands on one. Think I will be buying a few of these to take back to England next month.

bonne bell

Lastly are the moisturisers I use daily. I have one for the morning/day and one for nighttime. I’ve been having a few dry skin issues lately due to the weather and I actually discovered that the thing that wasn’t helping matters was my moisturiser. I had been using the Loreal Skin Perfection Moisturiser, which don’t get me wrong I absolutely love. However, the formula is too thin for my everyday, all-day use. It was interfering with my foundation application and it just wasn’t providing me with the amount of moisture my face needed. This is still the one I use at nighttime though and I’ve just bought a new one so it has that lovely pink tint to it still.
I told my boss at work about the problem I’d been having and she pointed me in the direction of the moisturiser that she uses. It’s packed with Vitamin E and is a much thicker formula. Honestly, when I first bought it I hated putting it on because I wasn’t used to wearing something so heavy but I’ve gotten used to it now and it’s truly been a miracle.

SkinPerfectionmacro

So after a long post, that’s it for my favourite skincare products at the moment. I sometimes use other things like toners but I haven’t been lately. I completely understand that as I’m currently living in Australia, some of these items won’t be available to everybody but these are just my personal preferences 🙂

(Firstly, I also write for ScandinaviaVogue on WordPress so I did copy and paste my own post! Also, thanks to Google for providing me with images as I didn’t have everything with me whilst I was writing)

-Amy xx

Leave a Reply

